Notable Quotable: “The Central Tragedy of the Trayvon Martin Case” – Al Mohler

imagesCAU28TAB

“The central tragedy remains. A smiling 17-year-old boy who had gone to a convenience store to buy a soft drink and a snack was shot to death, and we will never know exactly how or why. We just know that it is an unspeakable tragedy. It is a moral tragedy that even the best system of justice cannot remedy, much less restore. It is a political tragedy, a cultural tragedy, and a legal mess. But far more than these, it is the tragedy of a boy now dead, of parents and loved ones grieving, and of a nation further wounded, confused, and tormented by the color line.

“I think of the young black men on the campus I am honored to lead. I think of the faithful black parents whose families I so know, love, admire. I think of what they have to worry about that I never have to think about. I think of the conversations that must come for our nation and for our churches.

“But most of all I am thinking of those parents who have to have that talk I never had to have with my son. I pray and yearn for that day when those conversations will not be necessary. May God watch over every single one of them, for they, starting with Trayvon Martin, belong to all of us.”

(Al Mohler, “The Central Tragedy of this Case Remains—Trayvon Martin Belongs to Us All” , AlbertMohler.com)

2 thoughts on “Notable Quotable: “The Central Tragedy of the Trayvon Martin Case” – Al Mohler

  1. That is not true. We know why. He attacked another person and was trying to kill him and was killed himself. Let’s stop with this political correctness.

  2. Last year when this happened, such a heaviness and prayer came on me regarding this case- regarding the life of my young brother, and for justice to be done. Before the Lord in prayer the next day I heard plainly “cold blood”. I didn’t know the technical meaning, but I got the the jist. I opened my Bible to the place I’d opened before I went to bed. It spoke of how the “bloodthirsty” man (or men) roam the streets looking for someone to kill. Hm. Relation to “cold blood” here??? I meant to look the term up but forgot. Later in the day, I “happened” to come across a clip i wasn’t looking for regarding a murder of children in France. The term “cold blood” was used. Ok. Confirmation here. Looking it up. So I did. Here is the definition I found: Cold blood: without feeling; with cruel intent. Note “intent”. Why did he get out of that car in the first place? Could he just “possibly” have done as the bloodthirsty man of Psalm 59, hunting down the blood of the innocent?
    And Z. said it was “God’s will” for him to do this. Really? The boy was (I read today:) SIX houses away from his own house? So…. God was WORRIED??? that Trayvon was gonna harm someone before he got to his door? Was it “God’s will” for Trayvon’s dreams of going to school for aeronautics to NOT come to pass? Was it His will that the child of His son and daughter to be taken down that rainy night in COLD BLOOD??? (really???)

    Thank you, brother Mohler, for caring!

    Psalm 59, New American Version:

    Prayer for Deliverance from Enemies.

    For the choir director; set to Al-tashheth. A Mikhtam of David, when Saul sent men and they watched the house in order to kill him.

    1Deliver me from my enemies, O my God;
    Set me securely on high away from those who rise up against me.

    2Deliver me from those who do iniquity
    And save me from men of bloodshed.

    3For behold, they have set an ambush for my life;
    Fierce men launch an attack against me,
    Not for my transgression nor for my sin, O LORD,

    4For no guilt of mine, they run and set themselves against me.
    Arouse Yourself to help me, and see!

    5You, O LORD God of hosts, the God of Israel,
    Awake to punish all the nations;
    Do not be gracious to any who are treacherous in iniquity.
    Selah.

    6They return at evening, they howl like a dog,
    And go around the city.

    7Behold, they belch forth with their mouth;
    Swords are in their lips,
    For, they say, “Who hears?”

    8But You, O LORD, laugh at them;
    You scoff at all the nations.

    9Because of his strength I will watch for You,
    For God is my stronghold.

    10My God in His lovingkindness will meet me;
    God will let me look triumphantly upon my foes.

    11Do not slay them, or my people will forget;
    Scatter them by Your power, and bring them down,
    O Lord, our shield.

    12On account of the sin of their mouth and the words of their lips,
    Let them even be caught in their pride,
    And on account of curses and lies which they utter.

    13Destroy them in wrath, destroy them that they may be no more;
    That men may know that God rules in Jacob
    To the ends of the earth.
    Selah.

    14They return at evening, they howl like a dog,
    And go around the city.

    15They wander about for food
    And growl if they are not satisfied.

    16But as for me, I shall sing of Your strength;
    Yes, I shall joyfully sing of Your lovingkindness in the morning,
    For You have been my stronghold
    And a refuge in the day of my distress.

    17O my strength, I will sing praises to You;
    For God is my stronghold, the God who shows me lovingkindness.

Leave a Reply

